It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 5:05 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 11:10 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 11:08 am
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hello,
I have 2 1TB drives but made by different manufacturers. Can I use these 2 drives to upgrade my MV-5140 to 2TB or do they have to identical make and model drives?
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 11:15 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10735
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 630
Thanked: 931 times in 885 posts
They don't have to be from the same manufacturer, your drives should work fine.

Moving to the MediaVault-specific forum.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 11:26 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 11:08 am
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks for the reply.

Should have gotten it in the right form but havin issues with the brain thinkins and book learnin.

Love the pic Bubbles rocks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 1:23 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 11:08 am
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
One more question i almost forgot.

Not sure what drive is in these, but could this be a decent drive for a desktop used for general use? I have a machine that needs a drive for this.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 4:31 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10735
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 630
Thanked: 931 times in 885 posts
I think they are 7200RPM Seagate drives and should work fine in a desktop, but it's been awhile since I've messed with a MediaVault, sorry.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:45 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 11:08 am
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Alright, got the 2 1tb drives in there.
Got the recovery utility to say the loading of the image was succesfull. For some reason, however, the system doesn't seem to recognize the drives as neither of the horizontal bars now come on. The 3 lights at the the bottom, the far right one (nearest the USB port) still blinks pink constantly and the other two are blue withe middle one blinking periodically. Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:18 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Here is very good link that will help you
http://www.k0lee.com/hpmediavault/mv2upgrade.htm

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group