It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 4:49 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:48 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I will like to image or clone my stock 500GB from my MV2120 to 750GB or 1TB hard drive is the program or some kool way of doing this?

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:05 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 485
Location: NASHVILLE, TN
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
That requires cloning/duplicating a Linux/Reiser file format.

GHOST didn't even see these partitions . . . No luck there.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:52 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Greg H wrote:
That requires cloning/duplicating a Linux/Reiser file format.

GHOST didn't even see these partitions . . . No luck there.

Greg h how about Acronis True Image Enterprise Server?

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:23 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 504
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 39 times in 31 posts
I am curious about this too, as I have Acronis Echo Workstation and was thinking this might be an easy way to clone the stock hard drive on my EX485 and upgrade to a 1TB WD green drive I found lying around.

Has nobody tried this? I might give it a shot to see what happens.

At work we have hardware duplicators for discs, those basically do a hardware level copy from one drive to another, I have a feeling that should work as long as the software wouldn't freak out afterwards.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 8:18 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
jmpage2 wrote:
I am curious about this too, as I have Acronis Echo Workstation and was thinking this might be an easy way to clone the stock hard drive on my EX485 and upgrade to a 1TB WD green drive I found lying around.

Has nobody tried this? I might give it a shot to see what happens.

At work we have hardware duplicators for discs, those basically do a hardware level copy from one drive to another, I have a feeling that should work as long as the software wouldn't freak out afterwards.

Try a SEARCH (your best friend) around here and you will find several threads on WHS drive cloning. NET: Cloning is one thing, getting it to work after the fact is a major challange -- and probably not worth the effort. (I figure the time to do it right --if it can be done right-- is more than the time to do a Server Restore. I gave this up a year+ ago.)

FYI, this thread is NOT about MSS drives... Please continue MSS discussions in an MSS thread. Thanks!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:45 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:54 am
Posts: 118
Location: Sweden
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Maybe this can help you?
http://www.clonezilla.org/

I will try that when its time to replace the sys-drive in my MSS.

_________________
HP MicroServer N40L 4GB ECC RAM
Modded bios by "TheBay"
5TB+ HDD
APC Smart-UPS 1000 VA


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:44 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
MediaVault enthusiasts should also refer th http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1751 noting, especially, the first post on this date and the reference to YAHOO GROUPS.

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group