It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 5:14 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:16 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:01 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Northeast
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
For those of you that have an HP Media Vault and your ISP blocks the ports or you need to change the ports, we wrote up a little tutorial complete with a step-by-step on what you need to do. Check out the tutorials section over at http://www.MyHomeServer.com for more details

I'd also love to hear what other types of Tutorials and How-To's you want to see!

_________________
http://www.MyHomeServer.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:53 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Great little tutorial myhomeserver.com i use it to change my ports on my media vault because verizon is blocking port 80 keep up the great job you doing on them tutorials

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: glad it worked
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:19 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:01 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Northeast
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Glad it worked for you, for some folks using "vi" is a little tricky so we wanted to make it step by step with the simple keystrokes. I have also changed my SSL port but thats a little more involved with edits.

Please make sure you share any tips here that you learn

_________________
http://www.MyHomeServer.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:37 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
How do you restore the OS image on MV2120, if the Stock 500GB hard drive crash.
I notice there was no system restore CD like Media Smart server has three CD's A System restore , a PC restore and software installation CD the MV2120 only has an software Installation CD or is the OS on a ROM Chip?

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:41 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
How do you restore the OS image on MV2120, if the Stock 500GB hard drive crash.
I notice there was no system restore CD like Media Smart server has three CD's A System restore , a PC restore and software installation CD the MV2120 only has an software Installation CD or is the OS on a ROM Chip?

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Not sure
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:34 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:01 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Northeast
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Not sure exactly,I know it's possible with info from HP, I've done it on an earlier dev box from an ISO image...You'll have to check with HP Support or maybe someone else on here can chime in...Check with Lee too, he may know some tips

_________________
http://www.MyHomeServer.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Not sure
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:30 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 12:08 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
myhomeserver.com wrote:
Not sure exactly,I know it's possible with info from HP, I've done it on an earlier dev box from an ISO image...You'll have to check with HP Support or maybe someone else on here can chime in...Check with Lee too, he may know some tips


The MV2120 will have a utility to download its OS in the event that its HD crashes, but it hasn't been released yet.

As for restoring a PC, only the Gen2 MV Pro products (mv5140 and mv5150) include NTI's Drive Backup and the WinPE PC Recovery CD. The mv2120 only includes the file-based backup, NTI Shadow.

-Lee


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:19 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thank you myhomeserver.com and lee810 for the info and spec for the media vault.Lee810 do you have any idea what is the time frame for the HP release of the OS Image Restore software

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:56 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 12:08 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
mentor wrote:
Thank you myhomeserver.com and lee810 for the info and spec for the media vault.Lee810 do you have any idea what is the time frame for the HP release of the OS Image Restore software


I don't work for HP anymore, so I don't have much influence on getting the MV2 OS restore utility released. On the previous (MV1) products, the Nasload utility was never released on hp.com. You can find it on the Media Vault FAQ which is located here http://www.k0lee.com/hpmediavault .

There's a fear about releasing DOS utilities because not everyone knows how to use DOS, and so they are apparently trying to make it more foolproof by applying a Windows installer. But when you use an installer, you need to get the package digitally signed or Windows will provide an ominous warning about it being dangerous. I think a Windows installer is unnecessary, because you can explain how to access and use DOS from Windows with a few simple lines of instructions.

I've expressed this opinion to HP's support team for the MV but it has had no effect so far.

-Lee


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 2:28 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:24 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
It would be great to move this specific question regarding the restore-tool as an own thread.

Personally I am awaiting for this tool to be released since I have bad experience from my very first NAS (Sun Cobalt Qube).


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group