It is currently Wed Jul 17, 2024 4:21 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2023 3:27 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 678
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 28
Thanked: 77 times in 72 posts
Hi, I got this working up to a point. I have my Windows 10 laptop showing up in the WHS Console, but it's greyed out. But the connector on the toolbar shows red. Cannot connect to Windows Home Server. Please help.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2023 4:45 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:22 am
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
@ZVincent

Just superb stuff. Thank you. After months of trying myself unsuccessfully and reading/trying every possible blog/suggestion, your instructions worked perfectly and allowed me to again use WHS v1 to backup my Windows 10 machine, which stopped working with WHS v1 after an OS reinstall. I fortunately had an old donor machine whose backup I didn't care about and was able to use this to complete the steps.

Thank you again.

Ian


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2024 8:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2023 9:04 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks for this terrific information. In case anyone is still playing with this, I have a couple of additional points:

1) I believe that a donor machine can be used multiple times. Once I updated the registry key on the WHS with the new Windows 10/11 Machine name and got the client working on the new machine I uninstalled the WHS client from the donor (I made sure that the original WHS registry key including the original client GUID and the client certificate were gone) and reinstalled it. WHS happily created a new certificate for the donor machine and that machine now appears in the WHS console along with the Windows 10/11 Machine that was connected using the previous certificate and GUID.

2) This also works if you export a donor certificate from the store on the server (the certificate ID is a leading “C” followed by the GUID for the donor machine with the hyphens removed (from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Home Server\Transport\Clients\). So you don't need a donor machine if you happen to have kept backups on your server from machines you no longer have. As long as you have one working client that can provide a template for the registry keys, you can export the related certificate from the server and update the related registry key templates with the GUID from the server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2024 6:26 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:08 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I have a laptop running Win 10 which was happily backing up to the WHS V1 server until I had to re-install Win 10 last year. Needless to say re-installation of the WHS Connector failed. Luckily I had recently replaced the hard drive with an SSD so was able to re-install the original drive and extract registry entries from when it worked. Using these I was able to at least get backups operating, even though the WHSTray icon was red. When the information in this thread came along I knew I had to try it. Well I finally did and it worked like a charm. As I had all the information from the original working installation I only needed to carry out Step C in the document. That worked - proper connection to the server has been established - and all my previous backups still show on the server against the laptop. As a precaution I have extracted the registry and certificate information for the other computers connected to the server in case a similar situation should arise in the future with them.
Thanks to ZVincent for this.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group