It is currently Sun May 19, 2024 6:44 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:39 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:04 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi everyone.
I am new to this so please forgive me if my question is not at the right place.

I am contemplating buying a EX 485 but it is not sure to me if windows 7 (which I'll use for my new computer as soon as it comes out, October 22nd) will be compatible with the many features of the EX485: automatic backup, file sharing , remote access, etc... I called HP product info department yesterday to inquire about this and they said that at this time they do not know and that they can not say anything about the EX 485 and compatibility with Windows 7. It seems unprobable that it won't be compatible but they can not elaborate on that at this time. It seemed strange to me. I am not even sure who has to make that compatibility work : HP or Microsoft ? I tried to google but in vain . So this forum here is my last chance of having an answer, because I wouldn't want to buy the server just to find out that it won't be usable under windows 7 operating system. Anyone who can elaborate on this, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:47 am 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
I'm running Windows 7 on mine, and it works fine. All features work as they did under XP; if anything maybe a little quicker :D

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Cougar for this post
trda
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
You have no wories. Go for the purchase. Not only is Windows 7 completely 100% compatible with the HP Media Smart Server (running Windows 7 RTM on 3 machines connected to my MSS) but when MS releases PP3 for WHS, which is currently in beta 1 and is anticipated to be released in October about the time of Windows 7 general pubic release, PCs running Windows 7 get some added minor benefits that others do not get with WHS.

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Texas-Hansen for this post
trda
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:04 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:04 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thank you Cougar and Texas Hansen for your responses.
It wouldn't make sense for Windows 7 not to be compatible. Right ?

Do you have acces under Windows 7 computers to the remote acces feature or it will be implemented when the new update becames available (probably before the release of Windows 7 ) ?Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:01 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
trda wrote:
Thank you Cougar and Texas Hansen for your responses.
It wouldn't make sense for Windows 7 not to be compatible. Right ?

Do you have acces under Windows 7 computers to the remote acces feature or it will be implemented when the new update becames available (probably before the release of Windows 7 ) ?Thanks



You're welcome. Not exactly sure what remote access feature you're referring to in your last paragraph/question. Can you clarify it some and we'll be happy to help if we can?

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 4:54 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:51 am
Posts: 184
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 13 times in 13 posts
I am assuming that he is referring to whether you can remotely connect to the Windows 7 machine through the computers tab on the web access page.

I wish I could tell you the answer to that but I powered off my W7 machine this morning so I cannot check for you. That is a question that I had not even thought about the answer to.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:15 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
clc4912 wrote:
I am assuming that he is referring to whether you can remotely connect to the Windows 7 machine through the computers tab on the web access page.

I wish I could tell you the answer to that but I powered off my W7 machine this morning so I cannot check for you. That is a question that I had not even thought about the answer to.



Got it, I wasn't sure if that is what is was getting at. If so, the answer is yes so long as you have Windows 7 Ultimate, Professional or Enterprise, and you have enabled remote access on that particular Windows 7 client. If using a different version of Win 7 (i.e. Home or Basic), you could use LogMeIn as a solution.

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 1:47 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:01 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
^^^^ Logmein has a great free solution (as well as a paid one with more features). I use it on all my computers, really works great!

https://secure.logmein.com/products/free/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:11 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:07 am
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Let me see if I understand what's being said here correctly....


if I have a home network with two machines; one a windows 7 workstation and the second, a WHS, I can loggin to my WHS from a remote machine (from school, work, whatever) then VIA my WHS I can remote desktop into my W7 Workstation??!??


Texas-Hansen wrote:
clc4912 wrote:
I am assuming that he is referring to whether you can remotely connect to the Windows 7 machine through the computers tab on the web access page.

I wish I could tell you the answer to that but I powered off my W7 machine this morning so I cannot check for you. That is a question that I had not even thought about the answer to.



Got it, I wasn't sure if that is what is was getting at. If so, the answer is yes so long as you have Windows 7 Ultimate, Professional or Enterprise, and you have enabled remote access on that particular Windows 7 client. If using a different version of Win 7 (i.e. Home or Basic), you could use LogMeIn as a solution.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:15 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
Yes, if the client is running Windows 7 Professional, Ultimate or Enterprise and the client has been up to allow a remote connection.

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group